For more information about our solutions, please email

Cable Categories

November 20, 2013  |   Posted by :   |     |   Comments Off on Cable Categories»


Definition: The cables (copper or fiber optic) that hard wire computer networks are categorized by the speed and quality of the information they move. Categories (CAT) 1 through 6 are based on the EIA/TIA-568-B standards. Most new wiring for LANs (Local Area Networks) is CAT5e, an improved version of CAT5.

What This Means: Mission-critical networks require CAT5 or better. A professional electrical engineer should specify the category of wiring for any new building.


Need another definition?

Please select from the menu above




Related Posts

Comments are closed.